Childhood Memories (Trifecta)

I decided to try my hand at one of Trifecta’s weekly challenges.  In this challenge we were to write something between 33 and 333 words using the word Trail in it.  We had to use the third definition of it which is to move, flow, or extend slowly in thin streams.  I decided to use a memory of mine to write about.

 

 

One of my favorite memories of my childhood took place at the beach.  My family was very big into going to the local state park to enjoy the scenery.  We would walk along the beach collecting rocks and sea glass.  I can remember on one occasion we brought our sand pail with us.  While my brother swam and my sister was building a sand castle, I was busy digging a large mote around my flip flops.  Once finished digging I borrowed the sand pail and filled it with water.  Pouring the water into my hand dug mote until it was full to the top.  As I sat and giggled to myself about how funny my sandals looked all deserted on their own little island a wave came crashing in.  It washed completely over top of the mote that I had worked so hard on.  The only evidence that it ever existed were the trails of sand drifting back towards the water from which they were created.  I still to this day am more inclined to dig holes and fill them with water while at the beach, than I am to actually go swimming.  Little memories often bring back the largest of smiles to my face.

5 responses to “Childhood Memories (Trifecta)

  1. Thanks for linking up to Trifecta this week. Welcome aboard! What a great little snippet from childhood you’ve given us. The beach is a huge playground for children, and you’ve done a good job capturing those memories here. Hope to see you back again soon.

Leave a Reply

