Motherly love

Today has been a success. I made shepard’s pie for dinner, which to most people that would sound odd, but I love to cook. All three of my children ate it without a single complaint, which is a huge feat in itself. Simple things like a happy supper remind me of the days when I was a happy housewife. Now-a-days woman want freedom and independence. Granted I do as well, but I am very content staying home cooking and cleaning. Taking care of the kids and my household always made me extremely happy. Unfortunately after my 3rd child was born, and life started to create a strain on my relationship with my husband, it got to be too much. We split up, we’re still legally married, but we’ve been separated since my daughter was 10 months old. She is almost 6 years old now. I can tell you that I haven’t been truly happy since those days. I have tried unsuccessfully several times. But days like today bring a simple pleasure that I suppose is better than nothing at all. I will sit here and keep this contentious smile on my face until I fall asleep tonight. I am including my recipe for shepard’s pie.

Ingredients:
1lb of potatoes cubed
1 onion chopped small
1lb ground chicken
1 can of whole kernel corn
Grated cheese

Preparation:
Boil cubed potatoes and half of the chopped onions until soft. I prefer to keep peels on the potatoes, but it is not required. While those are boiling, brown the chicken, add spices as needed, I use onion powder, salt, pepper, garlic salt, oregano, and basil. Mash the potatoes and onions, mix a small amount of milk and a few pats of butter into the potatoes until they are fluffy. Spread the potatoes into a baking dish, layer the browned chicken on top of them, then a thick layer of corn. Top it off with a cover of potatoes, spread a little bit of butter over the top and sprinkle with grated cheese. Bake at 250degrees for approximately an hour.

~heart & soul~

Leave a Reply

