Heart in Your Hands

You had this heart in your hands.
You let go as it dropped to the floor.
I guess that you made other plans.
You didn’t need mine anymore.

It was only you that mattered,
I must have never meant a thing.
I should have heard the chatter,
Blinded by my love, I couldn’t think.

Now you’re free to love and live,
But my heart isn’t finished breaking.
All the love that I had, I did give,
My heart was yours for the taking.

And take it you did indeed.
You pulled me in then let me go.
I thought I was all you needed,
It was all a lie, how was I supposed to know.

~heart & soul~

Leave a Reply

