Fortress

Here I sit alone in this fortress,
where loneliness grasps my heart,
and drags me to the floor.

The fire that used to grow inside me,
burned hot until it was put out,
the remaining embers drown in tears.

The sorrow that has swept over me,
has darkened all of my dreams,
like a deep fog that’s come rolling in.

A longing for a clearer day,
when the clouds have finally parted,
and the warming sun shines through.

Shining through this prisons windows,
to bring light to the everlasting dark,
pumping life back into a lonesome heart.

~heart & soul~

Leave a Reply

