Road’s Less Travelled

My road’s less travelled
covered in dirt and gravel
hide my heart beneath your walkway
hiding everything you didn’t break
everything you failed to take

the good in me is long gone
only hurt and insecurities remain
your lies stabbed right through me
proceed to twist them like a knife
love can’t survive here without a life

this mask obscures my scars
yet leaves every one intact
reminders of my broken past
a hope to no longer reminisce
bleeding out from within my sins

lingering in this moment
pain that darkens my door
lost in a valley of shadows
darkness everywhere I turn
a blackened fire in which I burn

smoke that engulfs my body
in this field of dying souls
lost inside this blasphemy 
I desire to fall so fast to sleep
never again waking from this dream

Leave a Reply

