Love used to be so wonderful…

you crashed into my orbit

engulfed me in your world

swirled together through the milky way

round and round the blazing sun

until that moon you placed inside my hands

and that star that you had strung

the one that graced my chest

gravitated their way back to you

as you pulled yourself away

all but snapping my neck

as the star fought to break free

free from me,

free from all you said we could be

as you pulled away

I dropped out of your orbit

whilst also losing mine

falling free

falling so fast I caught fire

burning in this atmosphere

choking on this smoke left in these lungs

burned and broken

all that does remain

smears of ash upon clouds of white

remnants of a damaged star

applied like glitter in the nights sky

4 thoughts on “Love used to be so wonderful…

Leave a Reply

