Sometimes I Get Lost

Sometimes I wonder what in the hell is going on with me.  I lose myself so often, that I am surprised that I ever manage to find myself back where I belong.  I find the world and most of its contents to be a disappointment.  I get that I need to take everything with a grain of salt, but what happens when you’re being fed handfuls?  I just want to run a way from it.  I have my own little corner in which I duck down under the shadows, but sometimes I don’t want to hide away from everything.  Sometimes I want to just be there in your face like a ray of sunshine, like a drop of rain, or a snowflake that seemingly lands on your cold red nose.

I want to be so much more than I am, or ever have been.  I know there are many layers to myself that I have yet to peel.  I fail to do so out of fear,and disgust.  Fear that what I may uncover may be even worse than what I see now, and disgust for being so afraid to be myself.  I like to think that someday all this shit I have been force fed, and been dragged through will have a reason.  A pleasant outcome.  But again, fear kicks in and slaps that thought in the face.

I am a very pessimistic person, due to many factors.  I have many things in my life to be thankful for, and I am, but I know they will be there always.  I don’t need to worry about certain people because I know they will be there forever and ever.  I like to believe they will, and sometimes I even psych myself out of that thought, but it always returns.  No worries.  I just want a little bit more.

I am like a ninja, when I finally get on the right track, I beat myself up about it and fall right back to the same old shit I am used to.  The norm feels good to me, feels comfortable.  I haven’t met anybody who likes complacency as much as I do.  I think that’s why I sabotage myself every time something good comes along.  One of these days I will finally have everything I want in life.  Although I know that with my luck it will most likely be the day right before I die.  Let’s hope I have everything figured out completely wrong.  I have always told myself and friends to always assume the worst, that way when something good happens, it is so much more exciting.  Someday…

Leave a Reply

