In The Shadows

In the shadows is where you’ll find me

candle in my hand

burning at both ends

running from everything

that I should stand for

losing you somewhere along the way

drifting off to sleep

in the dark

in this night

my candle has burnt out forever

no more emitting light

forgetting to drop my bread crumbs

no way out of this mess

forgiving you for your mistakes

eternalizing love

is the blood that runs right through me

keeping me semi alive

this little light of mine won’t shine

ever, never again

frightened by everything unfamiliar

I put it out of sight

losing love but gaining anger

in this heart which fails to beat

yet beats to fail

I’ll sing my last long lost love song

and then declare defeat.

You win, you always have

my white flag I will wave

continue to hide amongst the shadows

this melted wax burnt to my hand

Leave a Reply

