Untitled

I am lost here without a light

in the darkness of this night

growing ill of all the wandering

but I won’t give up without a fight

 

Although my heart is surely stressing

from the constant inner pressing

sick to death of all my pondering

and my need for second guessing

 

Simple comforts I have no need for

this winding walk has made my feet sore

to reach an end is all I’m longing

struggling within my inner core

 

No shoes to walk down roads in

this gravel has worn my soles thin

the pain I am just prolonging

slowly wearing out my own skin

 

This chance that I am taking

seems to have been in the making

of a game I am forever losing

while my faith in this is breaking

 

Lost the endless losing battle

all of the useless prattle

this game was of your choosing

but my spirit you can’t rattle

 

So I’ll walk alone within this dark

on a journey only I can embark

rubbing sticks between my hands

until a subtle flame does spark

 

Only then will I again be found

after all the traversed ground

in the blackness of these lands

I will no longer be bound

4 responses to “Untitled

  1. I’ve got to say this is pretty amazing. I love poems that tell a story, are descriptive and have a good use of language. I am in love with this poem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

