The Tide

I watch the tide rise

and I watch the tide fall

burying the past

pulling under

everything 

That I have ever had

Drowning 

in the ocean

buried in the sea 

of memories

and lost chances

smoothing stones

as I tumble

underneath

the surface

down 

where no one can see

drowning

in the ocean 

buried under the sea

I dig myself a grave

of dirt 

and muck 

and sand

of all the things beneath 

you’d never hold inside your hand

digging holes inside the ocean

buried deep within the sea

waves shall come 

and waves will go

push and pull my heart

no longer does it flow

into the ocean

there is nothing left of me

5 responses to “The Tide

Leave a Reply

