Caged In

This cage that holds me isn’t  made of steel

It’s not made with cement or wood
It isn’t held closed with locks or welded doors
These bars I’m held behind are invisible to you by design
I stepped into this cell willingly
I built these walls up high
With intentions, not bricks
I built these walls tight
With love, not glue
I don’t know anymore if this is life or punishment
I keep myself captive
Under lock and key
This cage that holds me is the only thing that keeps my feet off the ground
It keeps me swinging in the wind
Not knowing which way I should be going
This cage keeps me miles from freedom
But someday I will let myself go
So I can set myself free

Leave a Reply

